How long does it take for a human body to decay?

It all depends on a number of factors, a few of those are if or how deep the body is buried, the weather at that time, the temperature at that time, if it was embalmed, if it's in a coffin, etc. If an adult body is in a grave, 6 ft down, no coffin, it will take 8 - 12 years to fully decompose