Where are moonpies from?

The Moon Pie is a sweet southern snack that originated back in 1917. Made from two graham crackers with marshmallow filling and chocolate coating, Moon Pies are produced by Chattanooga Bakery in Chattanooga, TN. A KY coal miner asked for a snack “as big as the moon” , hence the name.