How did the continents get their names?

America comes from name of Italian explorer Amerigo (Americus) Vespucci. Africa comes from the Roman designation of the area Africa Terra,"land of the Afer".The word Asia from the Ancient Greek word Ἀσία, first attributed to Herodotus 440 BCE in reference to Anatolia in contrast to Greece and Egypt.