Why are mosquitoes called mosquitoes?

The Spanish called the mosquitoes musketas and native Hispanic Americans called them zancudos. Mosquito is a Spanish or Portuguese word meaning little fly while zancudos, a Spanish word, means long legged. The use of the word mosquito is apparently of North American origin and dates back to 1583.

---

Because “Bob” was taken.