Why was time invented?

Time was never really "invented". More accurately, it was categorized. Ancient civs didnt comprehend planetary rotation. They observed the repetition of days and nights and reoccurring patterns of seasonal change and it's effects on crops. "Time" developed as a means of a marking measurement.