When do strawberries grow?

According to Bonnie Plants, "Like most hardy perennials,strawberries die back in winter and start growing vigorously as the soil warms in spring. After bearing fruit (as early as Feb. in Florida,or June farther north),many types of strawberries produce numerous runners with baby plants at the tips."