Where do syrup come from?

Syrup comes from plant sap. The most common syrup used today is corn syrup, which is made by squishing corn plants until the sap runs out. Maple syrup, on the other hand, is made by making small holes in a maple tree to allow a little sap to run out, but not enough to harm the tree.