What is the story of the edmund fitzgerald?

The Edmund Fitzgerald was a American Great Lakes freighter that sank in a Lake Superior storm on November 10, 1975, with the loss of the entire crew of 29. They were on their way from Superior, Wisconsin to a steel mill near Detroit Michigan. Gordon Lightfoot wrote a song about it.