Has there ever been a category six hurricane?

No, but only because a Category 6 doesn't currently exist. The Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Wind Scale is a 1 to 5 rating based on a hurricane's sustained wind speed. So a hurricane stays at catagory 5 as it is highest possible.