What is dirt made out of?

Soil is composed of a matrix of minerals, organic matter, air, and water. Each component is important for supporting plant growth, microbial communities, and chemical decomposition. The largest component of soil is the mineral portion, which makes up approximately 45% to 49% of the volume.