Can i put hot food in the fridge?

It is always best to allow hot food to cool before putting it in your refrigerator, because hot food can lower the temperature of your fridge considerably, which can make other food subject to molding or spoilage.

---

According to the US Food and Drug Administration, leftovers need to be refrigerated or frozen within 2 hours. Despite what some people believe, putting hot food in the refrigerator doesn’t harm the appliance. To help hot food cool faster, divide leftovers into smaller containers first.