How long do you steam shrimp for?

Raw shrimp will cook very rapidly, usually anywhere from 30 seconds to 2 minutes, depending upon size of the shrimp, the quantity being prepared and intensity of the heat. Stop cooking immediately when their flesh turns an opaque pink color, as overcooked shrimp are rubbery, tough and lose flavor.