How did the fortune cookie get its name?

The fortune cookie got its name from the little slips of paper inside that had a fortune - that is, what may happen in the future, printed on them.

---

Author Jennifer Lee says it’s “a riddle wrapped in a mystery inside a cookie.” There are several people who claim to have invented the fortune cookie, and a possible precursor, Chinese "Mooncakes" containing good luck messages date back to the 14th century.