How high can the highest jumper jump?

On 27 Jul 1993, Cuba's Javier Sotomayor leapt 2.45 m (8 ft 0.45 in) in Salamanca, Spain. No one else has ever jumped above 8 ft (2.44 m). Sotomayor also recorded the highest high jump (indoors) . 2.43 m (7 ft 11.6 in), in Budapest, Hungary, on 4 Mar 1989.