When do you add an apostrophe?

The apostrophe indicates possession, so you add one when you want to make that word possessive. In other words, if you want to write "This is Bill's backpack," you would add an apostrophe between Bill & S to show that. If you just want to make a word plural, you don't use an apostrophe.