What is arcturus made of?

Arcturus may be a Population II star and a member of the Milky Way galaxy's thick disk. The thick disk is generally formed of old stars that may lie several thousand light-years above or below the galactic plane, unlike thin disk stars such as Sol which typically lie within a thousand light year.