How long do you boil a hambone?

To make a ham stock out of a hambone or ham hock, I recommend that you bring it to a boil with 3 quarts of water over medium-high heat. Then reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer for three hours. For more flavor, try adding onion, carrots, celery, garlic, parsley, peppercorns and a bay leaf.