How do praying mantises make?

When the female praying mantis is mating, she does not bite the head off the male with one swift snip: she chomps into it, like an apple. It appears to have the texture of a honeydew melon. Her mate has tried to avoid this destiny. The male European mantis “uses his feelers to calm her down”