What does the word a port mean?

Port is where boats and ships go to dock. Port is also the left side of a boat while facing forward. . The opposite of port is "Starboard" is the right side of a boat. Finally, port wine is a kind of red wine is a sweet red wine from Portugal. often served with dessert.