Is polish a hard language to learn?

According to the US Foreign Service Institute, Polish is one of the more difficult languages for English speakers to acquire. It takes almost twice as long for an English speaker to learn Polish as to learn easier languages like (for example) Spanish, French, Dutch or Swedish.