Why do babies vomit?

Vomiting may be linked to feeding problems, such as overfeeding. A less common cause is an allergy to proteins in your breast milk or formula. Viral or bacterial infection. Congestion or a respiratory infection can lead to vomiting, especially during a coughing fit.