What is dw weight?

In shipping, DW stands for Dimensional Weight. Dimensional Weight describes the minimum chargeable weight of a package due to its dimensions. A package which is lighter than typical for it's size may be charged based on its dimensional weight, either as a minimum charge or an added surcharge.