What is the difference between translate and interpret?

A "translation" is a word-for-word, literal, change from one language to another. An "interpretation" is an opinion of the intended meaning of the entire passage in the other language. It reflects the culture and "generally accepted" use of words and is not an exact word-for-word duplication.