How is bubonic plague transmitted?

Bubonic plague is an infection of the bacteria Yersinia pestis. This bacteria is spread when fleas bite infected animals such as rats and squirrels and then a person. It is also spread from bites and scratches from infected animals and from inhaling aerosols from people when they cough or sneeze.