What is the heavy side layer?

The Heaviside layer, sometimes called the Kennelly–Heaviside layer, named after Arthur E. Kennelly and Oliver Heaviside, is a layer of ionised gas occurring roughly between 90km and 150 km above the ground — one of several layers in the Earth's ionosphere. It is also known as the E region.