Did all dogs come from wolves?

The dog, is a direct descendent of the gray wolf, Canis lupus: In other words, dogs as we know them are domesticated wolves. ... All modern dogs are descendants of wolves, though this domestication may have happened twice, producing groups of dogs descended from two unique common ancestors