How long does it take for water to boil?

It depends on the amount of heat being applied in BTUs, and the volume of water being heated. The hotter the source of heat, the sooner the water will boil. On a high setting for most household stoves, figure 5 to 7 minutes per quart on a gas stove and 8-10 minutes on an electric.