What is a hash tank round?

HESH rounds are thin metal shells filled with inert material (like coal-tar pitch) ,plastic explosive and a delayed-action base fuze. Upon impacting the inert material followed by plastic explosive is "squashed" against the surface of the target and spreads out to form a disc or "pat" of explosive.