How does the mayan calendar work?

I can only give a brief answer. The Mayan Calendar consists of three separate corresponding calendars: the Long Count, the Tzolkin, and the Haab. Each is cyclical, meaning that a certain number of days must occur before a new cycle can begin. Detailed information is available on the Internet