Why do they call it a hail mary?

Originally meaning any sort of desperation play, a Hail Mary is a very long forward pass in American football made in desperation late in a half or late in a game with only a small chance of success.The expression goes back at least to the 1930s, when it was used by two former members of Notre Dame.