Is salt made out of rocks?

Partially. In the past almost all the salt used was produced from the evaporation of seawater. Rock salt are mined using the usual excavation methods. Today in several countries salt is produced by solar evaporation from seawater.

---

Salt is the crystallized form of saline--salt mixed with water. No, it's not made of rocks.