What is p. protein isolate?

Pea protein isolate is a protein, usually in powdered form which is extracted from the yellow pea or Pisum sativum and is commonly used as a substitute for animal proteins in many foods such as cheeses, yogurts and vegetarian meats. It is also used as an alternative to whey protein in energy bars.