How many slices are in one loaf of bread?

The standard loaf of sandwich bread contains approximately 20 to 24 slices of bread, including the end pieces (often referred to as the “heels”). Loaves of specialty breads, such as Texas toast, sourdough and multi-grain, contain approximately 16 to 18 slices.