Was delaware the first state?

Yes

---

Yes, Delaware was the first state to join the Union which ratified the 1787 Constitution.

---

Delaware was the first state to ratify the Constitution of the United States, which it did on December 7, 1787. Because of this, Delaware is frequently called "The First State".

---

The First State. In Dover, Delaware, the U.S. Constitution is unanimously ratified by all 30 delegates to the Delaware Constitutional Convention, making Delaware the first state of the modern United States.