Can pawns move backwards in chess?

No, Chess Pawns only move forwards. Only during each Pawns First move, they can move 2 Squares should the Player wish. However, in any later move that Pawn is only ever allowed to move 1 Square forwards. To ‘take' one of their opponents pieces, the Pawn may only move 1 Square diagonally forwards.