Why do cats chatter at birds?

Generally, cat chirping occurs when a cat is interested in or provoked by prey - a bird, a squirrel or a rodent, for example. It's more of an excited sound and less of a sound used to hunt. You usually hear this chattering behavior when a cat cannot get to the prey for some reason.