What was the first video game created?

The first computer game using video was invented in 1958 by William Higinbotham, a physicist working at the Brookhaven National Laboratory. The game that Higinbotham created, Tennis for Two, was first to show real animation. Visitors loved it—it was by far the most popular exhibit at the open house.

---

In October 1958, Physicist William Higinbotham created what is thought to be the first video game. It was a very simple tennis game, similar to the classic 1970s video game Pong, and it was quite a hit at a Brookhaven National Laboratory open house.