Why are some chicken eggs white?

Egg color depends on the breed of the chicken. For example, White Leghorn chickens lay white-shelled eggs, while Plymouth Rocks and Rhode Island Reds lay brown-shelled eggs. Some breeds of chicken, such as the Araucana, Ameraucana, Dongxiang and Lushi, even lay blue or blue-green eggs.