Why does alabama have an elephant mascot?

The UA elephant dates back to 1930, when Atlanta Journal Sportswriter Everett Strupper quoted a fan as saying, 'Hold your horses, the elephants are coming!' about the Alabama varsity. He and others referred to Bama as the "Red Elephants," for their crimson jerseys, and the association stuck.