How do we open a coconut?

Holding the coconut with a towel, firmly tap it with a meat mallet or hammer, turning as needed, until the shell starts cracking in half. Split the shell, then put the coconut cut side down on a flat surface. Tap with the mallet to loosen the flesh. Carefully pry the flesh away from the shell