Where do potato latkes come from?

They originated in the eastern European countries of Germany, Austria, Russia and Poland as a peasant food. Potatoes were cheap, plentiful and easy to store, making them a staple. It was the European Jews who gave potato pancakes their Yiddish name–latkes–and repurposed them as a holiday food.