How long do adults need to sleep?

The average time needed for adults to sleep is about 8 hours each night

---

Adults need to sleep from 6.5 to 8 hours a night. With older age, the amount of sleep at night becomes less, and maybe a few naps become a habit. During sleep the body repairs, refreshes and boosts brain and body health. In the young, it promotes development and growth.