Where did the name milky way come from?

Long ago, the Romans named the galaxy “via lactea,” which translates to “road of milk.” The Romans named it via lactea precisely because it looks like a milky patch of sky at night. The Romans got the name from the Greeks, who called it galaxias kyklos, which translates into “milky circle.”