When was the first adam split?

In 1932 the Englishman J. D. Cockcroft and the Irishman E. T. S. Walton, working jointly at the Cavendish Laboratory, were the first to split an atom when they bombarded lithium with protons generated by a type of particle accelerator and changed the resulting lithium nucleus into two helium nuclei.