What does the grade d. stand for?

The grade ‘D’ stands for ‘below average.’ It is mostly known from the K-12 grading scale in schools. Letters are give to rate a child’s performance in different subjects. ‘A’/excellent; ‘B’/above average, ’C’/average, ‘D’/below average and ‘F’/failing. Sometimes pluses (+) and minuses (-) are used.