How long is a female dog's heat cycle?

From 2 to 4 weeks. Dogs go in heat as part of reproduction. If you have an intact female and don't want puppies plan to keep her away from male dogs for a month. When the discharge changes from red to straw-colored she is ready to conceive so keep male dogs away for a week after the bleeding stops.