What is a viking?

Viking, is the name given to the seafaring peoples who lived in the areas now known as Denmark, Norway and Sweden from the 8th through 11th centuries.

---

Vikings is the name given to seafaring people originally from Scandinavia, who from the late 8th to the late 11th centuries raided, pirated, traded & settled throughout parts of Europe. They also voyaged as far as the Mediterranean, North Africa, Volga Bulgaria, the Middle East, & North America.