Where did dogs and cats come from?

Humans domesticated dogs before any other animal. A popular theory suggests that humans began taking in wolf pups and eventually were able to tame them. Cats were first domesticated in the Near East up to 12,000 years ago. They provided pest control for people who then fed and took care of them.