What is a hitchhiker stone?

Any natural object that lodges on a walker's clothing to be discovered later is often called a "hitchhiker." A pebble that ends up in a shoe or a pantcuff is a hitchhiker stone. A burr on a shirtsleeve or pantleg is a hitchhiker seed. These objects have been used as themes in some fantasy novels.