What is the biggest sword ever made?

The biggest sword commonly used in battle was the Scottish claymore. It would often reach about 5′9″ in length. In Scotland there is a historical claymore that is 7 feet long with a weight of 23 pounds. Bigger swords have been made in history, but largely for ceremonial or decorative purposes.